After only being picked by his opposing coaches last year as the Big Ten Coach of the Year, Wisconsin head coach Paul Chryst has been named the consensus Big Ten Coach of the Year after the media and coaches selected him.

With a 12-0 finish in the regular season, Chryst has guided Wisconsin to its first 12-0 start in program history. In his first three season’s as head coach, Chryst has a record of 33-3 joining Fielding Yost and Urban Meyer as coaches to earn 10 or more wins in each of their first three seasons.

Wisconsin has consistently been ranked in the Top 10 all season and this week jumped into the top four of the College Football Playoff Ranking for the first time as they are on the cusp of making the playoff for the first time in program history.

After a rough three years that saw Bret Bielema leave to coach Arkansas and Gary Anderson leave to coach Oregon State, Chryst came in as head coach and has since steadied the program.

In his three years as coach, he has also seen multiple top defensive coordinators leave in the form of Dave Aranda and Justin Wilcox.

All the while, Chryst has maintained success and continually improved the Badgers every year he has been a coach at Wisconsin.

Tune in on Saturday for the Big Ten Championship game as the Big Ten Coach of the Year and his Wisconsin Badgers take on Ohio State.