On Wednesday, it was announced that Badgers head coach Paul Chryst will be one of five potential winners for the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award.

The award is given to the best coach in the FBS – “the coach of a team with a successful season on the field and equally as important, stresses the importance of academic excellence and desire to give back to the community,” according to TheDoddTrophy.com.

After starting the season unranked, Chryst led the Badgers to a Week 1 upset win over then-No. 5 LSU on the way to a perfect non-conference record. The No. 8 Badgers finished the regular season 10-2 (7-2 in the Big Ten) and champions of the Big Ten West after many projections had them finishing lower. Wisconsin lost the conference championship game to Penn State to finish 10-3, and will face undefeated No. 15 Western Michigan in the Cotton Bowl on January 2nd.

In two seasons with the Badgers, Chryst has compiled a 20-6 record. Others nominated for the award include Washington’s Chris Peterson, Colorado’s Ken MacIntyre, Navy’s Ken Niumatalolo, and Chryst’s opposition on January 2nd, Western Michigan’s PJ Fleck.